Back to index NoteWorthy Composer Scriptorium

Symphony No. 3 in C major, Sinfonie singulière, 2nd Movement

Music Menu

Scripto Search
What's New
Monthly Chart

Classical A  B  C  D E  F  G  H  I  J  K  L
M  N  O  P  Q  R  S
T  U  V  W  X  Y  Z

Major Composers Bach  Beethoven
Beethoven (Tina B)
Handel  Haydn
Mendelssohn  Mozart
Schubert  /  S-Lieder

Major works
Joplin Rags
Messiah  Planets

Anthems  Christmas
Cornish  Ethnic
Hamilton  Humour
MacEanruig  Ragtime
National Anthems
Rock  Tin Pan Alley

Marches  Polkas

In Memoriam

These pieces (in Noteworthy Composer format) are for private use only. You may download them for your own personal use.
You may NOT market them for monetary gain. You may NOT use the scores to give a public performance unless you have the permission of the copyright holder/user who submitted the file.
You will find the contact details in this file. If you are having difficulties, please contact for further advice.
For more information on copyright, please read this.

Would you like to recommend this NoteWorthy submission to others?
Then click on the recommend icon at the foot of this page.
For more details about recommending, click here.

File:berwsng2.nwc (August 2003) 21 kB
Full name of work:Symphony No. 3 in C major, Sinfonie singulière, 2nd Movement
Composer:Berwald, Franz Adolf (1796-1868), Swedish
Music category:Romantic
Instruments:2 Flutes, 2 Oboes, 2 Clarinets, 2 Bassoons; 4 Horns, 2 Trumpets, 3 Trombones; Timpani; Strings
Name of file creator:Grant Hicks
e-mail address:ghicks02 "at" sprynet "dot" com
Running time:00:09:22
Comments:The Sinfonie singulière is today probably Berwald's best-known work, but he never heard it performed. The premiere performance didn't happen until 1905, sixty years after the symphony was written.
Herbert Blomstedt, in his introduction to the Urtext score published by Bãrenreiter, has this to say about the work -
"The word 'singulière' means 'singular, original'. Berwald himself gives us a clue to his understanding of this term in a section of his 'Introduction to the Art of Composition', where we can read 'In order to give the pupil a reliable system of judging his work, I ask him to conduct the following survey of its contents, namely Is there a breath of originality in it? No! - Does the rhythm perhaps betray some kind of unique characteristic? No! - Perhaps there are sections of a particular polyphonic interest? No! - Then take the whole product and throw it into the all-engulfing sea of oblivion.'
"Although Berwald's Sinfonie singulière is undeniably 'singular' and 'individual', it too was destined to spend a good 60 years in the 'all-engulfing sea of oblivion'. The composer does not seem to have made any attempt to have the work performed or published. This was due not only to his rigorous sense of self-criticism, but undoubtedly also to the awareness that contemporary audiences - at least in Sweden - were not ready to accept his symphonic works. He still ruefully recalled the complete lack of comprehension which his Sinfonie sérieuse had met with at its Stockholm premiere in 1843. His Sinfonie singulière would undoubtedly have confused his contemporaries even more with the thematic conciseness of the first movement, the abrupt dynamic shifts in the other movements, the insertion of the Scherzo within the Adagio, the choice of a minor key for the finale of a symphony in a major key, and the quotation from the Adagio in the Finale."
11:10; 9:22; 8:40

This NoteWorthy file uses non standard fonts. These can be obtained as follows:
Boxmarks - Scriptorium download at
Crescendo - Scriptorium download at