Back to index NoteWorthy Composer Scriptorium

La cathedrale engloutie ("The Sunken Cathedral") (1910)

Music Menu

Scripto Search
What's New
Monthly Chart

Classical A  B  C  D E  F  G  H  I  J  K  L
M  N  O  P  Q  R  S
T  U  V  W  X  Y  Z

Major Composers Bach  Beethoven
Beethoven (Tina B)
Handel  Haydn
Mendelssohn  Mozart
Schubert  /  S-Lieder

Major works
Joplin Rags
Messiah  Planets

Anthems  Christmas
Cornish  Ethnic
Hamilton  Humour
MacEanruig  Ragtime
National Anthems
Rock  Tin Pan Alley

Marches  Polkas

In Memoriam

These pieces (in Noteworthy Composer format) are for private use only. You may download them for your own personal use.
You may NOT market them for monetary gain. You may NOT use the scores to give a public performance unless you have the permission of the copyright holder/user who submitted the file.
You will find the contact details in this file. If you are having difficulties, please contact for further advice.
For more information on copyright, please read this.
Recommend this to others?
File:debcath.nwc (April 2005) 12 kB
Full name of work:La cathedrale engloutie ("The Sunken Cathedral") (1910)
Composer:Debussy, Claude Achille (1862-1918), French
Arranger:Karageanes, Jim - U.S. (1943- )
Music category:"Romantic"
Instruments:Piano solo
Name of file creator:Jim Karageanes
e-mail address:Doctor_Zorba "at" Comcast "dot" net
Running time:00:07:18
Comments:An ancient Breton legend records that the Cathedral of Ys was downed by a giant wave because God was displeased with the town people's impiety and that on occasion, the cathedral rises from the sea and tolls its bells before returning to its watery grave.
Debussy's narrative notes suggest an image of the ghostly Cathedral rising briefly out the ocean fog and then quietly sinking back into its enchanted sleep at the bottom of the sea,
10th of 12 Preludes for Piano, Book I (1910).
This NoteWorthy file uses a non standard font. This can be obtained as follows:
Boxmark2 - Scriptorium download at