Back to index NoteWorthy Composer Scriptorium

Thanks Be to Thee (Dank sei dir Herr)

Music Menu

Scripto Search
What's New
Monthly Chart

Classical A  B  C  D E  F  G  H  I  J  K  L
M  N  O  P  Q  R  S
T  U  V  W  X  Y  Z

Major Composers Bach  Beethoven
Beethoven (Tina B)
Handel  Haydn
Mendelssohn  Mozart
Schubert  /  S-Lieder

Major works
Joplin Rags
Messiah  Planets

Anthems  Christmas
Cornish  Ethnic
Hamilton  Humour
MacEanruig  Ragtime
National Anthems
Rock  Tin Pan Alley

Marches  Polkas

In Memoriam

These pieces (in Noteworthy Composer format) are for private use only. You may download them for your own personal use.
You may NOT market them for monetary gain. You may NOT use the scores to give a public performance unless you have the permission of the copyright holder/user who submitted the file.
You will find the contact details in this file. If you are having difficulties, please contact for further advice.
For more information on copyright, please read this.

Recommend this to others?
File:ochstb.nwc (May 2015) 5 kB
Full name of work:Thanks Be to Thee (Dank sei dir Herr)
Composer:Ochs, Siegfried (1858-1929), German
Arranger:Lonneke, Michael b. 1943 American
Lyricist:Ochs, Siegfried (same as Composer
Translator:unknown Originally in German as Dank sei dir Herr
First line:Thanks be to Thee be ever Thine
Music category:Sacred Anthem
Instruments:2 fl. + oboe + 2 tpts. + 2 tbns. + organ + tympani + cello + bass + SATB chorus
Name of file creator:Michael Lonneke
e-mail address:mlonneke "at" wildbllue "dot" net
Running time:00:03:24
Comments:For years this was passed off as being by Handel. It is, in
fact, one of the most convincing Handel forgeries ever created. One source

Egypt. Ochs first studied chemistry and medicine before turning to music.
Highly trained and active he was a co-founder of the Neue-Bach-Gesellschaft.
Had considerable composing talent and had prodigious gifts for mimicking
other composers. This is a very fine piece and is regularly performed by
artists of the highest caliber without any qualms about its provenance. A
few snotty music critics still pick at the piece, but such predictable

maintain that it is, in actual fact, by Handel.)