All That Jazz!

These pieces (in Noteworthy Composer format) are for private use only. You may download them for your own personal use. You may NOT market them for monetary gain. You may NOT use the scores to give a public performance unless you have the permission of the copyright holder/user who submitted the file. You will find the contact details in this file. If you are having difficulties, please contact for further advice. For more information on copyright, please read this.
younatj.nwc (May 2003) 17 kB
Full name of work:All That Jazz!
Composer:Young, Michael (1984 - ), Australian
Music category:Swing/Jazz
Instruments:Trumpets, Alto Saxophones, Tenor Saxophones, Trombone, Piano, Bass Guitar, Drums
Name of file creator:Young, Michael
e-mail address:myoung11 "at" optusnet "dot" com "dot" au
Running time:00:06:41
Comments:A jazz chart written for a big-band style swing/jazz ensemble, "All That Jazz" is a rondo form piece that uses combinations of regular and irregular time signatures to recreate moods and feels of the music performed by the Dave Brubeck Quartet.
The A Section was written with the intention of recreating the 5/4 feel of "Take Five" which was written by saxophonist, Paul Desmond. The section prodominantly uses alto saxes to perform the melody, with the trombone and piano holding the harmony.
The B Section was written with the intention to imitate the 9/8 feel of "Blue Rondo a la Turk" as well as give myself the opportunity to expand further on Dave Brubeck's ideas by basing the section's piano, bass, drum and harmonies. In the section, trumpets and tenor saxes hold the melody, and the harmony is performed by the piano.
The C Section explores the concept of the early style blues (Circa 1900's). To create this mood. Melody and counter melody between the wind instruments,which is used to create the blues feel. As well as this, call and response is also used between the trumpets and alto saxes to create an echoing feel.There is also a written solo for alto sax 1 mid-way through the C Section.
The Coda section is essentially is a satire of the coda section of Calvin Cluster's arrangement of "Blue Rondo A La Turk". The way I did this was by taking coda apart, splitting the first for bars into groups of two, and a third group of four bars ( A1, A2 and A3), separating them by two bars 4/4 swing between A1 and A2, and separating A2 and A3 with two bars of 5/4 swing to create a rondo form ending. The piece then resolve from the 9/8 D minor to 4/4 F major to signify the completion of the piece.
Music Menu

Scripto Search What's New Recommendations
Browse by Composer Browse by Submitter
Classical A B C D
Major Composers
Bach Beethoven
Beethoven (Tina B)
Handel Haydn
Mendelssohn Mozart
Schubert S-Lieder
Major works
Joplin Rags
Messiah Planets
Anthems Christmas
Cornish Ethnic
Hamilton Humour
MacEanruig Ragtime
National Anthems
Rock Tin Pan Alley
Marches Polkas
In Memoriam