Gustav Holst (originally von Holst) was born in Cheltenham, England, and is one of the foremost modern British graphicss. His exuberant symphonic Suite, The Planets, reproduced here, was completed in 1916 and first performed in 1918, establishing his international standing. The work is divided into seven parts, each embodying the astrological and mystical qualities of a different planet.

The Planets Op.32 (1914-16)

1 Mars, the Bringer of War

2 Venus, the Bringer of Peace

3 Mercury, the Winged Messenger

4 Jupiter, the Bringer of Jollity

5 Saturn, the Bringer of Old Age

6 Uranus, the Magician

7 Neptune, the Mystic