After a brief period as a student of law and clerk in the Ministry of Justice, Tchaikovsky studied composition under Anton Rubenstein at St.Petersburg Conservatoire. In 1866 he became a teacher in the new Moscow Conservatoire established by Nicholas Rubenstein.

(Source: Collins Music Encyclopedia (1959))

Symphony No.1 in G Minor. Op.13 (1855, rev. 1874)
"Winter Daydreams"

1. Allegro Tranquillo

2. Adagio cantabile "Gloomy land, misty land"

3. Scherzo

4. Finale

Symphony No.2 in C Minor. Op.17 (1872, rev. 1879-80)
"The Little Russian"

1. Andante sostenuto - Allegro vivo

2. Andantino marziale, quasi moderato

3. Scherzo

4. Finale

Symphony No.3 in D Major, Op 29 (1875)

1. Introduzione e Allegro

2. Alla tedesca

3. Andante

4. Scherzo

5. Finale

Symphony No.5 in E Minor. Op.64 (1888)

1. Andante - Allegro con anima (etc.)

2. Andante Cantabile

3. Valse: Allegro moderato

4. Finale: Andante maestoso

Symphony No.6 in B Minor. Op.74 (1893)

1. Adagio - Allegro non troppo

2. Allegro con grazia

3. Allegro molto vivace

4. Finale: Adagio lamentoso

Nutcracker Suite Op.71a (1892)

1. Overture in Miniature

2. March of the Toys

3. Dance of the Sugarplum Fairy

4. Russian Dance

5. Arabian Dance

6. Chinese Dance

7. Dance of the Reed Pipes (Mirlitons)

8. Waltz of the Flowers

Other Works

Capriccio Italien Op 45 (1880)

1812 Festival Overture Op. 49 (1880)

Marche Slave (Slavonic March) Op.31 (1878)

Marche Slave presented here is somewhat different to the more familiar, conventional version. Having made some inquiries, I am informed by the publishers of the score - Dover Publications Inc. - that it is a reprint of the Moscow State Publishing House edition. The difference arises from the fact that the Soviets replaced the original Czarist theme with a more politically acceptable post-Revolutionary theme.

An early example of 'Political Correctness'?