Passacaglia and Fugue in C Minor, BWV 582

bach582.nwcJuly 200126.55 kB00:11:09
Composer:Bach, Johann Sebastian (1685-1750), German
Submitter:Hicks, Grant
Email:ghicks02 (e-mail)
One of Bach's greatest organ works. The Passacaglia is a set of 20 continuous variations on an 8-bar ostinato theme first stated in the pedal. The Fugue is in 4 voices and is based on the first half of the passacaglia theme.
Based on the notation "cembalo e pedale" in the manuscript, some have contended that the work was intended not for organ but for pedal harpsichord.
This NoteWorthy file uses a non standard font. This can be obtained as follows:
Boxmarks - Scriptorium download at