Christ on the Mount of Olives - Christus am Ölberge, Op.85 (1802)

beet_op85crvz.zipDecember 202095.42 kB00:44:50
  • 01: Introduction00:05:06
  • 02: My Father, O my Father00:02:58
  • 03: All my soul within me shudders00:04:22
  • 04: Now tremble, Nature.00:01:19
  • 05: Praise the Redeemer's goodness / 06: Oh, triumph00:06:57
  • 07: Canst thou, O Seraph, now declare.00:00:59
  • 08: On me then fall thy heavy judgement00:04:06
  • 09: Then welcome, Death00:00:56
  • 10: We surely here shall find him00:01:49
  • 11: Behold him00:03:51
  • 12: Not unchastis'd00:01:11
  • 13: Mine inmost heart is burning00:04:18
  • 14: Haste! And seize upon the traitor00:02:54
  • 15: Halleluia00:04:04
Composer:Beethoven, Ludwig van (1770-1827), German
Genre:Classical Oratorio
Instruments:arranged for SAT[TT]BB (piccolo, clarinet, French horn, bassoon/tuba) and piano (converted to strings etc)
Submitter:Hooper, John
Email:john (e-mail)
The ZIP File contains the following specific Files:-
01-Introduction.nwc 1: Introduction
02-Father.nwc 2: O Father, O my Father
03-soul.nwc 3: All my soul within me shudders
04-tremble.nwc 4: Now tremble, Nature.
05-06-Praise.nwc 5: Praise the Redeemer's goodness
6: Oh, triumph, all ye ransom'd
07-Seraph.nwc 7: Canst thou, O Seraph, now declare
08-judgement.nwc 8: On me, then, fall thy heavy judgement
09-welcome.nwc 9: Then welcome, Death
10-surely.nwc 10: We surely here shall find him
11-Behold.nwc 11: Behold him
12-unchastis'd.nwc 12: Not unchastis'd
13-heart.nwc 13: Mine inmost heart is burning . . . . .
14-Haste.nwc 14: . . . . Haste! And seize upon the traitor
15-Halleluia.nwc 15: Halleluia
There are no texlyrics; the File was generated purely for Choral Rehearsing purposes (using a published piano-reduction Score), and so doesn't look pretty even though it should sound reasonable (though that depends very much on your hardware/software; mine is a Soundblaster AWE64 Gold).
Voice-emphasised Midi Files of the whole work can be downloaded for free from my Website (above). In these Files no attempt has been made to "match" the real instrumentation, and the Piano Reduction Backing is represented solely in String form.
My Website also contains Midi Files for several rather more modern Composers, for which NWC versions may be available.
There is an excellent performance of this Work (conductor Jeremie Rhorer) on YouTube starting at