Piano Concerto in F

darbypcf.zipJuly 2007100.09 kB00:33:52
  • First Movement00:13:36
  • Second Movement00:10:16
  • Third Movement00:10:00
Composer:Darby, Bob (1947- ), English
Instruments:Piano & Orchestra
Submitter:Darby, Bob
Email:bob (e-mail)
The first movement composition is in conventional sonata form, beginning calmly but developing into a relentless "engine" that is the main theme, leading into a quieter second subject. Both themes are intertwined in the development section culminating in a powerful fugue, returning in more or less their original form for the finale.
The slow movement begins with a quiet chilling intro sequence on the violins leading to the strident main subject on the piano. A middle section starting low in the bassoons and double basses lead to a short but demanding cadenza returning to the main subject at full blast but fading to nothing.
The final movement, in rondo form starts off with a molto peasante theme on the piano which is altenated with a less rumbustuous section presented in various colours with the orchestra, there is a calmer middle section in the middle of which, like the eye of the storm, is a passage of positive tranquility, but the storm returns to end in a fortissimo tutti.
This, along with much of my other music has been run through Edirol Orchestral HQ sofware synthesizer to give sounds as close as possible to the actual instruments in the score, it can be heard as a wma file at www.per-nefer.net/bob_music.htm.