Fingal's Cove

mend_fingcovez.zipMarch 2022129.92 kB00:04:45
  • 00:04:45
  • - Set up for Parts extraction00:04:45
Composer:Mendelssohn, Felix Bartholdy (1809-1847), German
Instruments:Concert Band
Submitter:Cook, Neil D.
Email:cooknd (e-mail)
Transcriber:Safranek, Vincent (1867-1955), Bohemia
Safranek, Vincent (1867-1955) Bohemia
Fingals Cove Is a shortened, edited copy of
Fingal’s Cave Overture, a band transcription (1910) by V.F.Safranek of
The Hebrides Overture (Fingal’s Cave) (1830-1832) by Felix Mendelssohn
Source - Fingal’s Cave – BandMusic PDF Library
Editing: (major changes only)
Some parts (that I know of) were left out because of being missing or incomplete online:
Eb Soprano Clarinet, 1 & 2
Alto Clarinet
Some parts were re-named
2nd and 3rd Flute (one written part) became 2nd Flute
2nd and 3rd Bb Clarinet (one written part) became 3rd Bb Clarinet.
Solo and 1st Bb Clarinet became 1st and 2nd Bb Clarinet..
Solo, 1st and 2nd Cornet became 1st, 2nd, and 3rd.
Some parts were edited to match modern instrumentation.
Soprano and Alto Sax to Alto Sax 1 & 2. Soprano Sax became optional.
Bass Sax is optional
Some parts were removed, or partially moved to other parts:
Db Piccolo (Piccolo in C remains)
Flugelhorn 1 & 2 to Cornet 2 & 3
One new part, String Bass, was a simple transposition of the orchestral Doublebass part.
Performance time was reduced to less than half by a single cut in the music. This single cut was used to minimize damage to the original flow of the music. The cut begins after the statement of the second theme and ends just before a slower transition leading up to the large, concluding animato section.