The First Walpurgis Night [Die erste Walpurgisnacht], Op. 60 (1831/1842)

mendwal.zipJuly 200690.54 kB00:33:00
  • 3/400:03:34
  • 5/6/7/8/900:14:12
  • Overture + 1 + 200:15:14
Composer:Mendelssohn, Felix Bartholdy (1809-1847), German
First Line:N/A
Instruments:arranged for SATB (piccolo, clarinet, French horn, bassoon) and piano (converted to strings etc)
Submitter:Hooper, John
Email:john (e-mail)
This ZIP File contains the following NAMED sections:-
O+1+2.nwc: 0 Overture
1: Now may again
2: Know ye not a deed so daring?
3+4.nwc: 3 The man who flies
4: Disperse, ye gallant men
5+6+7+8+9.nwc:5: Should our Christian foes assail us
6: Come with torches brightly flashing
7: Restrain'd by might
8: Help, my comrades
9: Unclouded now, the flame is bright
There are no text/lyrics; these Files were generated purely for Choral Rehearsing purposes (using a published piano-reduction Score), and so don't look pretty even though they should sound reasonable (though that depends very much on your hardware/software; mine is a Soundblaster AWE64 Gold).
Voice-emphasised Midi Files of the whole work can be downloaded for free from my Website (above). The Site also contains Midi Files for several rather more modern Composers, for which NWC versions may be available.