Hallelujah Chorus (from Messiah (arr.), K.572) (1789)

mozhall.nwcJune 200019.72 kB00:03:49
Composer:Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus (1756-1791), Austrian
Genre:Chorus from a Baroque English Oratorio (arranged for the classical orchestra)
Instruments:Flutes, Oboes, Clarinets, Bassoon, French Horns, Trumpets, Timpani, Violin I, Violin II, Viola, SATB, Violoncello, Contrabass
Submitter:Hall, Damien
Email:DDementia (e-mail)
Libretto:JENNENS, Charles (1700-1773), English (translator to German unknown)
In and around 1788 Mozart became director of a society of ancient music, who called themselves the Gesellschaft der Associierten Cavaliere (Society of Associated Cavaliers). For the society's subscription concerts, Mozart collected and orchestrated four works by Handel - Acis and Galatea, Alexander's Freat, Ode for Saint Cecilia's Day, and Messiah. These arrangements were to update the orchestration to that of the "modern" orchestra, and were all published in German. This is a portion of the Messiah arrangement, the famous Hallelujah Chorus. The original Handel version is also available in this database.
Original Composer - Handel, George Friederic (1685-1759), German